Thread: Phoenix Module for Jaguar Emulation

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 48
  1. Collapse Details
    Phoenix Module for Jaguar Emulation 
    #1
    Member
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    74
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support our site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site
    Hey guys, I know there is a module for Phoenix already. However most recent versions have included Atari Jaguar emulation....and compatibility is at 95% for all titles which to my knowledge makes this the new go to emulator for Jaguar. Check out the compatibility list for yourself, many titles are pure green. They are stating 100% compatibility for all 3do titles now as well.


    http://www.arts-union.ru/node/23

    Anyway has anyone updated the module to work with new Phoenix versions?
     

  2. Collapse Details
    Re: Phoenix Module for Jaguar Emulation 
    #2
    Super Moderator
    agent47's Avatar
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    1,192
    I remember starting one back when the jaguar support was added but cant remember how far I got. Ill try to check this weekend.
     

  3. Collapse Details
    Re: Phoenix Module for Jaguar Emulation 
    #3
    Junior Member
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    2
    Iím interested in a Jaguar module also. Was it ever created?
     

  4. Collapse Details
    Re: Phoenix Module for Jaguar Emulation 
    #4
    Senior Member

    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    518
    I haven't tried that Phoenix emulator yet, but if it's as good as it claims to be, that'd be awesome. Jaguar emulation has never really been good.

    There's an english patch for the emluator floating around too.
     

  5. Collapse Details
    Re: Phoenix Module for Jaguar Emulation 
    #5
    Super Moderator
    agent47's Avatar
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    1,192
    I checked and I did start one so I just need to finish it which I'll probably do next week since I'll have some extra time off from work. I have a few other simpler modules I want to finish first since this one is a bit of a pain due to how the emu works (cant launch via cli, absolute paths in an xml file, need populated ini, etc).
     

  6. Collapse Details
    Re: Phoenix Module for Jaguar Emulation 
    #6
    Member
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    31
    I'm very much interested myself if a module was created as I believe that CLI is not an option, I have tested this and it and by far the best JAG emu out there hope we have a module soon..
    Any progress yet??
    Cheers
     

  7. Collapse Details
    Re: Phoenix Module for Jaguar Emulation 
    #7
    Super Moderator
    agent47's Avatar
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    1,192
    Apologies for the silence, I did manage to integrate Jaguar functionality into the Phoenix module. I also added support for ColecoVision and Master System since they're also supported by the emulator and all platforms seem to be working fine with the module (Jaguar, 3DO, SMS and Coleco). After doing that I got sidetracked by something else so I need to revisit this to clean up the code and add some checks/error messages and whatnot.
     

  8. Collapse Details
    Re: Phoenix Module for Jaguar Emulation 
    #8
    Member
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    31
    Quote Originally Posted by agent47 View Post
    Apologies for the silence, I did manage to integrate Jaguar functionality into the Phoenix module. I also added support for ColecoVision and Master System since they're also supported by the emulator and all platforms seem to be working fine with the module (Jaguar, 3DO, SMS and Coleco). After doing that I got sidetracked by something else so I need to revisit this to clean up the code and add some checks/error messages and whatnot.
    Thank you very much appreciated a pretty good addition to the module collection.
     

  9. Collapse Details
    Re: Phoenix Module for Jaguar Emulation 
    #9
    Member
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    31
    No news on this for xmas
     

  10. Collapse Details
    Re: Phoenix Module for Jaguar Emulation 
    #10
    Senior Member cID67's Avatar
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    222
    any updates on this?
     

  11. Collapse Details
    Re: Phoenix Module for Jaguar Emulation 
    #11
    Member
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    77
    Hi im realy realy realy need this feature for my jaguar system.
    This emulator is perfect for Jaguar.
    Any news?
     

  12. Collapse Details
    Re: Phoenix Module for Jaguar Emulation 
    #12
    Member
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    31
    You can just add this line of code to brolly's module.
    Then add the bios and games after..
    ToReplace =
    (
    <CARTRIDGE [^>]*
    )
    Replacement =
    (
    <CARTRIDGE expanded="true" attach="%romPath2%" last-path="%romPath3%"
    )
    xml := StringUtils.RegExReplace(xml,ToReplace,Replacement )

    FileDelete, %emuPath%\phoenix.config.xml
    FileAppend, %xml%, %emuPath%\phoenix.config.xml

    20180208025140.jpg
    Attached Images Attached Images
     

  13. Collapse Details
    Re: Phoenix Module for Jaguar Emulation 
    #13
    Senior Member cID67's Avatar
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    222
    what module? can u post it here for refferance?
     

  14. Collapse Details
    Re: Phoenix Module for Jaguar Emulation 
    #14
    Member
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    31
    Sure thing here is my module edited and it works perfect.
    I can just use 4do or either Retroarch for 3do

    MEmu := "Phoenix"
    MEmuV := "v1.1"
    MURL := ["http://www.arts-union.ru/node/23"]
    MAuthor := ["djvj"]
    MVersion := "2.0.4"
    MCRC := "BD5A0D04"
    iCRC := "109E182B"
    MID := "635038268914342592"
    MSystem := ["Panasonic 3DO","Atari Jaguar"]
    ;----------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ; Notes:
    ; This emu only supports iso images
    ; Set SelectGameMode if you have any problems with the emu opening the game
    ; If your bios file is called fz10_rom.bin, rename it to fz10.rom, it should be placed in the same dir as the emu exe.
    ; On first launch, Phoenix will ask you to point it to the fz10.rom. After you do that, exit the emu and select a game in your Front End and it should work.
    ; If you do not have an English windows, set the language you use for the MLanguage setting in RocketLauncherUI. Currently only Spanish/Portuguese is supported.
    ;
    ; Phoenix stores its config in the registry @ HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\FreeDO\FreeDO Emulator
    ;----------------------------------------------------------------------------

    StartModule()
    BezelGUI()
    FadeInStart()

    Fullscreen := moduleIni.Read("Settings", "Fullscreen","true",,1)
    ControlDelay := moduleIni.Read("Settings", "ControlDelay","20",,1) ; raise this if the module is getting stuck somewhere
    KeyDelay := moduleIni.Read("Settings", "KeyDelay","-1",,1) ; raise this if the module is getting stuck

    dialogOpen := ("dialog.open") ; Looking up local translation

    If bezelEnabled
    BezelStart(If Fullscreen = "true" ? "" : "fixResMode")

    ;hideEmuObj := Object(dialogOpen . " ahk_class #32770",0,"Phoenix ahk_class Qt5QWindowIcon",1) ; Hide_Emu will hide these windows. 0 = will never unhide, 1 = will unhide later
    7z(romPath, romName, romExtension, 7zExtractPath)

    SetControlDelay, %ControlDelay%
    SetKeyDelay(KeyDelay)

    If romExtension in .7z,.rar,.zip
    ScriptError("Pheonix does not support archived or cue files. Only ""iso"", ""img"", and ""bin"" files can be loaded. Either enable 7z support, or extract your games first.")

    HideEmuStart() ; This fully ensures windows are completely hidden even faster than winwait

    ; Your XML file to be altered in a variable
    FileRead, xml, %emuPath%\phoenix.config.xml
    romPath2 = %romPath%/%romName%%romExtension%
    romPath3 = %romPath%
    StringReplace, romPath2, romPath2, \, /, UseErrorLevel
    StringReplace, romPath3, romPath3, \, /, UseErrorLevel

    If (!StringUtils.Contains(xml,"</CARTRIDGE>","CD-ROM")) {
    ScriptError("You don't have any games stored in phoenix.config.xml")
    }



    ; Use regex to setup the game to load
    ToReplace =
    (
    <CARTRIDGE [^>]*
    )
    Replacement =
    (
    <CARTRIDGE expanded="true" attach="%romPath2%" last-path="%romPath3%"
    )
    xml := StringUtils.RegExReplace(xml,ToReplace,Replacement )

    FileDelete, %emuPath%\phoenix.config.xml
    FileAppend, %xml%, %emuPath%\phoenix.config.xml

    Run(executable, emuPath)
    DetectHiddenWindows, on

    WinWait("ahk_class Qt5QWindowIcon")
    WinWaitActive("ahk_class Qt5QWindowIcon")
    ;WinMenuSelectItem, ahk_class Qt5QWindowPopupDropShadow,, 2&, 1&

    Send, {Alt}{Right}{Enter}{Enter} ; power on roms

    If Fullscreen = true
    Send, {F11} ; fullscreen

    Sleep, 1000

    BezelDraw()
    HideEmuEnd()
    FadeInExit()
    Process("WaitClose", executable)
    7zCleanUp()
    BezelExit()
    FadeOutExit()
    ExitModule()

    CloseProcess:
    FadeOutStart()
    WinClose("ahk_class Qt5QWindowIcon") ; Removing Phoenix from the title because the emulator shows statistics in the title while a game is playing
    Return
     

  15. Collapse Details
    Re: Phoenix Module for Jaguar Emulation 
    #15
    Senior Member

    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    518
    I got some errors initially running your module manson976, but after I manually added the games (Add cartridge dump to the collection in the menu), the games load.

    However, the games do not start in full screen for me (with the menu still on the side), and I can't find any module setting or emulator setting to fix it. Any ideas?

    Ideally I'd like this module to work with my bezel. I can press F11 in game to go full screen, then I can press my toggle bezel hotkey twice, and the emulator will be in bezeled mode. But I can't get the emulator to start out that way.

    Here's a pic of what the emulator looks like when I boot a game, how are you able to get the menu to disappear?

    20180209195543.png
     

  16. Collapse Details
    Re: Phoenix Module for Jaguar Emulation 
    #16
    Member
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    31
    Run the Emu standalone...
    If you look at the options bar 'VIEW'
    Untick everything and you will have just Emu screen.
     

  17. Collapse Details
    Re: Phoenix Module for Jaguar Emulation 
    #17
    Senior Member

    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    518
    Awesome, thanks for the help. After following your guidance, I got the bezel to look like this:

    20180210175500.png

    It was a definite improvement, but not ideal.

    But, I've dealt with this situation before, and have developed a very scrubby (but completely useable) solution. All you have to do is alter the Bezel.ini coordinates, and implement negative numbers to hide the title bar. Luckily the RL devs had the foresight to make negative numbers actually work.

    From there it was a simple matter of trial and error. What I do is, I cut out part of the bezel in photoshop to make sure that everything lines up properly. Here's a few screenshot examples of that:

    20180210180243.png
    20180210180342.png


    And, here's the finished result:

    20180210181013.jpg


    So, if you want to use a typical bezel for 4:3 aspect, you will need the following settings in your Bezel.ini (named after the Bezel.png):

    [General]
    Bezel Screen Top Left X Coordinate=234
    Bezel Screen Top Left Y Coordinate=-25
    Bezel Screen Bottom Right X Coordinate=1706
    Bezel Screen Bottom Right Y Coordinate=1151

    Here is the bezel I am using if anyone is interested:

    Bezel Alex.png


    Lastly, this was tested and perfected using 1600x900 resolution, so I can't guarantee that it works perfectly with all resolutions, but I suspect it won't matter.
     

  18. Collapse Details
    Re: Phoenix Module for Jaguar Emulation 
    #18
    Senior Member

    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    518
    Alternatively, if someone needs a 'faux fullscreen' mode, here's a 'bezel' for that.

    Bezel.ini settings are:

    [General]
    Bezel Screen Top Left X Coordinate=0
    Bezel Screen Top Left Y Coordinate=-25
    Bezel Screen Bottom Right X Coordinate=1940
    Bezel Screen Bottom Right Y Coordinate=1151

    And, here's the blank canvas png file , or 'fake full screen' bezel (click the seemingly blank space below to enlarge, then download it):

    Bezel Alex.png


    Here's a screenshot of that:
    20180210183857.png
     

  19. Collapse Details
    Re: Phoenix Module for Jaguar Emulation 
    #19
    Senior Member

    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    518
    If someone knows how to implement the Bezel offsets right into the module (to hide the title bar/move the lower right corner down), that would be ideal.

    Otherwise I think this is good to go.

    I've tested every game from HyperList, and compatibility is very good. But, there is some noticeable slowdown on 10+ games, and I have a reasonably fast computer.
     

  20. Collapse Details
    Re: Phoenix Module for Jaguar Emulation 
    #20
    Junior Member
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    12
    I must be doing something wrong with either the module, which I copied from above, or Pheonix itself, but I keep trying to launch from Rocketlauncher and it tells me to load a cartridge. I have already loaded the games in Pheonix, and they launch fine from there...any suggestions? I know the module was written to uses Emulator version 1.1. I had trouble finding that so I'm suing the latest version which is 2.8.JAG...I'm guessing this is the issue?
     

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •