Thanks Thanks:  0

Thread: Bezeldraw takes 6 seconds but only on NES system

Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. Collapse Details
    Bezeldraw takes 6 seconds but only on NES system 
    #1
    Senior Member Dime333's Avatar
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    577
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support our site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site
    When I use bezels for NES, I can see in my log that it takes 6 seconds for RL to get from "Bezeldraw - Started" to "BezelDraw - Ended". I can also see in the log that during these 6 seconds, RL executes the same winmove command 17 times and then it says "MoveWindow - Failed" so this seems to be the cause of the delay. It doesn't matter if I use Nestopia or Bizhawk as my emulator. This issue causes the fade screen to stay up for several seconds after the game has finished loading.

    Here is the bezeldraw part of the log.
    https://pastebin.com/3H7R0gW7

    Here is the same part from a log where I launched a SNES game. The same process takes less than a second.
    https://pastebin.com/4W9RyPdL

    Can someone shed some light on this?
     

  2. Collapse Details
    Re: Bezeldraw takes 6 seconds but only on NES system 
    #2
    Member
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    40
    Now that u mention, i am also noticing some slight delay between bezel being drawn and game start on NES only. Its not as long as 6 seconds, maybe 3. I cant account for delay
    There is two things that connect both, ahk file and core. My first bet would be ahk file. There is probably some junk code thats causing it.
    -edit
    but then again , it might be the core as well. How core handles overlay being drawn on top of it.. it will need investigation to find real cause

    P.S
    have u tried retroarch?
    Also have u tried disabling logging all together? It can be cause for delays due to read writes in logs
    Last edited by IceLancer ; 10-09-2018 at 05:06 PM.
     

  3. Collapse Details
    Re: Bezeldraw takes 6 seconds but only on NES system 
    #3
    Senior Member Dime333's Avatar
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    577
    I have tried Retroarch a couple of times, yes. Not to test this issue though. I'm sure Retroarch is great for all kinds of reasons, but I just can't seem to get along with it.
    And yes, I normally have logging set to off and the delay is still the same. Can you check your log and see if you also get the 17 winmove lines and "MoveWindow - Failed?
     

  4. Collapse Details
    Re: Bezeldraw takes 6 seconds but only on NES system 
    #4
    Member
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    40
    Nope, no error or warning of any kind. And after further examining, i dont get a delay, its more like game pops up, freeze for 1.5sec then bezels pops up and game continues. On nes only
     

  5. Collapse Details
    Re: Bezeldraw takes 6 seconds but only on NES system 
    #5
    Senior Member Dime333's Avatar
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    577
    OK. Thanks for testing. Hopefully someone will be able to tell me what's wrong here.
     

  6. Collapse Details
    Re: Bezeldraw takes 6 seconds but only on NES system 
    #6
    Member
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    40
    i am getting this, not sure what it is about
    Code:
    23:25:59:706 | MD |      INFO  | +46    | ToggleMenu - Started
    23:26:00:249 | MD |   WARNING  | +547   | ToggleMenu - Timed out trying to restore MenuBar for 0x99164a
    23:26:00:249 | MD |      INFO  | +0     | ToggleMenu - Ended
    also noticed that bezel loading is loading default background from _default.. it doesnt need to do that, maybe thats causing micro freeze, will check
    Code:
    23:25:58:614 | MD |      INFO  | +0     | BezelStart - Started
    23:25:58:646 | MD |      INFO  | +31    | BezelStart - Game will be moved to monitor 1 if RL finds a valid bezel to be show.
    23:25:58:647 | MD |      INFO  | +0     | BezelStart - Loading Bezel image: E:\Igre\RetroPie\EmulationMix\Emulators\RocketLauncher\Media\Bezels\Nintendo Entertainment System\Addams Family, The (USA)\Bezel - Addams Family, The (USA).png
    23:25:58:647 | MD |      INFO  | +0     | BezelStart - Loading Overlay image: E:\Igre\RetroPie\EmulationMix\Emulators\RocketLauncher\Media\Bezels\Nintendo Entertainment System\Addams Family, The (USA)\Overlay.png
    23:25:58:690 | MD |      INFO  | +47    | BezelStart - Loading Background image: E:\Igre\RetroPie\EmulationMix\Emulators\RocketLauncher\Media\Bezels\_Default\Background.png
    23:25:58:724 | MD |      INFO  | +31    | BezelStart - Ended
     

  7. Collapse Details
    Re: Bezeldraw takes 6 seconds but only on NES system 
    #7
    Member
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    40
    P.S
    as for ur error:
    MoveWindow - Failed: Window ahk_id
    that is ahk script trying to hook into window app ID. u should check ur emulator ahk id if its matches , maybe it doesnt support ur version because of wrong id
     

  8. Collapse Details
    Re: Bezeldraw takes 6 seconds but only on NES system 
    #8
    Member
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    40
    U can utilize this ahk script after u compile it
    Code:
    ; ctrl+f10
    ^F10::
    WinGet, WinID, ID, A
    MsgBox, %WinID%
    
    
    WinGetActiveTitle, Title
    MsgBox, The active window is "%Title%".
    P.S
    i just tried nestopia, it seems to work fine. But i am using some god-knows-how-old-version of emu stored on my pc.
    Last edited by IceLancer ; 10-09-2018 at 05:42 PM.
     

  9. Collapse Details
    Re: Bezeldraw takes 6 seconds but only on NES system 
    #9
    Senior Member Dime333's Avatar
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    577
    My Nestopia App ID is 0x50840. What does that mean? This is from the log.

    MoveWindow - Failed: Window ahk_id 0x110304 at X=233, Y=-16, W=1452 H=1102

    Edit: Actually, I get a different ID every time I launch Nestopia.

    0x30876
    0xcab0306
    0x90860

    and so on.
    Last edited by Dime333 ; 10-09-2018 at 05:58 PM.
     

  10. Collapse Details
    Re: Bezeldraw takes 6 seconds but only on NES system 
    #10
    Member
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    40
    sorry i got occupied with other things. Solved my second freeze by changing from retroarch start in fulscreen from true to false (in retroarch not rl) , works instant now.

    about ur problem. I need u tell me more. Have u updated nestopia version? can u pack ur emulator so i can check here.

    btw, why not use retroarch? u know u dont have to interact with it at all.
    Download RA, download cores u want (or all) stash it somewhere. Tell RL where it is and set RA as emulator, thats it. Play games

    http://buildbot.libretro.com/nightly...x86_64/latest/

    P.S
    about ID, u only need second popup. Which says "name id:"
    MsgBox, The active window is "%Title%".
    emuPrimaryWindow := new Window(new WindowTitle("Nestopia","Nestopia"))
    Last edited by IceLancer ; 10-09-2018 at 06:32 PM.
     

  11. Collapse Details
    Re: Bezeldraw takes 6 seconds but only on NES system 
    #11
    Senior Member Dime333's Avatar
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    577
    Sure, here is the file. I believe it's the latest version.
    The AHK title is "Nestopia" so that's not a problem. If that's wrong, RL will throw an error and not start the game at all.
    Maby I will give Retroarch another go some day

    nestopia.zip
     

  12. Collapse Details
    Re: Bezeldraw takes 6 seconds but only on NES system 
    #12
    Member
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    40
    ur emu is missing some lang fils. cant run it.
    in mean time, quick observation, ur version says 1.46 which is some unoficial build? latest off is 1.40 and Rl ahk says it works with 1.42?
     

  13. Collapse Details
    Re: Bezeldraw takes 6 seconds but only on NES system 
    #13
    Member
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    40
    I have found 1.46 on my hdd it seems to work without any delays u described. Here give it a go

    Code:
    https://mega.nz/#!QpZCwajK!tb_JxLir26k0oZPLuzYqaBquynZkZh4Y4iH9hquv-ZY
    attached ahk script as well

    P.S
    i have noticed, that nestopia doesnt load bezel properly, or maybe emulator isnt being stretched properly? There is weird bar at the bottom of bezel also my glass overlay isnt being loaded, most likely bad support by emu. I would move to restroarch if u can . There is also no support for scallines, hlsl ..
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by IceLancer ; 10-09-2018 at 06:54 PM.
     

  14. Collapse Details
    Re: Bezeldraw takes 6 seconds but only on NES system 
    #14
    Member
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    40
    This is nestopia:

    and this is retroarch
     

  15. Collapse Details
    Re: Bezeldraw takes 6 seconds but only on NES system 
    #15
    Senior Member Dime333's Avatar
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    577
    Thank you for trying to help. I still get the same result with your version and I also get the exact same issue with another emulator "BizHawk". I have fixed the bezel alignment issue by adjusting the bezel.ini and I use the built in Scanlines in RL. I'll try some other emus and see if it makes any difference. Here's how it looks for me in Nestopia.

    bezel.jpg

    I'm gonna go to bed now. Thanx again.
     

  16. Collapse Details
    Re: Bezeldraw takes 6 seconds but only on NES system 
    #16
    Member
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    40
    See if there is difference in ahk script. I have attached it in prev post. Night.
     

  17. Collapse Details
    Re: Bezeldraw takes 6 seconds but only on NES system 
    #17
    Senior Member Dime333's Avatar
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    577
    The modules were Identical.
     

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •