Thread: MAME v0.212 don't launch with RocketLauncher

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 23
  1. Collapse Details
    MAME v0.212 don't launch with RocketLauncher 
    #1
    Junior Member
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    10
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support our site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site
    Hi,

    since new version (0.212), RocketLauncher doesn't work with MAME.

    MAME loads up and close immediately

    I have deleted MAME.ini from emulator and MAME.ini from Module to test but doesn't work too !

    With MAME and MAMEUI, I can launch roms without problems.

    With older version, all is fine.

    Thank you for your help.
    Last edited by PsyKos ; 08-06-2019 at 12:43 AM.
     

  2. Collapse Details
    Re: MAME v0.212 don't launch with RocketLauncher 
    #2
    Super Moderator
    agent47's Avatar
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    1,158
    In .212 they removed the art CLI overrides so attempting to run a game using the module will cause MAME not to run due to unknown parameters. I fixed this in my module when I updated last week. I can post a fix in the morning.
     

  3. Collapse Details
    Re: MAME v0.212 don't launch with RocketLauncher 
    #3
    Member
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    49
    Quote Originally Posted by agent47 View Post
    In .212 they removed the art CLI overrides so attempting to run a game using the module will cause MAME not to run due to unknown parameters. I fixed this in my module when I updated last week. I can post a fix in the morning.
    Nice, Greatly appreciated.
     

  4. Collapse Details
    Re: MAME v0.212 don't launch with RocketLauncher 
    #4
    Senior Member tonesmalone's Avatar
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    734
    Quote Originally Posted by agent47 View Post
    In .212 they removed the art CLI overrides so attempting to run a game using the module will cause MAME not to run due to unknown parameters. I fixed this in my module when I updated last week. I can post a fix in the morning.
    Great work agent.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
     

  5. Collapse Details
    Re: MAME v0.212 don't launch with RocketLauncher 
    #5
    Junior Member
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    10
    OK, thank you for your quick reply
     

  6. Collapse Details
    Re: MAME v0.212 don't launch with RocketLauncher 
    #6
    Member
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    65
    At work now, when I get home and start RLUI and click on update will it update to the newest MAME module or will it be posted on this thread?

    Thanks
     

  7. Collapse Details
    Re: MAME v0.212 don't launch with RocketLauncher 
    #7
    Super Moderator
    agent47's Avatar
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    1,158
    You'll have to make the changes manually. I would post the full module but a little while back MAME changed the media type params for some of the software list systems and I haven't finished going through and fixing all of them yet so I'm not going to post something that's broken.

    Find these lines in the module

    Code:
    If !networkSession {
    	RLLog.Info("Module - SinglePlayer session")
    	errLvl := primaryExe.Run(" " . (If mameID = "MAME" ? romName :  mameID . param1 . param2 . param3 . param4 . param5 . param6 ) . ctrlrFile . mameRomPaths . sysStaticParams . romParams . fullscreenParam . hlsl . glsl . cheatEnabled . volume . inipath . hashpath . verticalRotationMode . videomode . artworkCrop . useBezels . useOverlays . useBackdrops . useCpanels . useMarquees . autosave . bootscript . bilinearEnabled . " -skip_gameinfo", winstate,,,,1)	; wrap quotes around exe
    }
    and change it to

    Code:
    If !networkSession {
    	RLLog.Info("Module - SinglePlayer session")
    	if (MAMEVersion > 211) {
    		errLvl := primaryExe.Run(" " . (If mameID = "MAME" ? romName :  mameID . param1 . param2 . param3 . param4 . param5 . param6 ) . ctrlrFile . mameRomPaths . sysStaticParams . romParams . fullscreenParam . hlsl . glsl . cheatEnabled . volume . inipath . hashpath . verticalRotationMode . videomode . artworkCrop . autosave . bootscript . bilinearEnabled . " -skip_gameinfo", winstate,,,,1)	; wrap quotes around exe
    	}
    	else {
    		errLvl := primaryExe.Run(" " . (If mameID = "MAME" ? romName :  mameID . param1 . param2 . param3 . param4 . param5 . param6 ) . ctrlrFile . mameRomPaths . sysStaticParams . romParams . fullscreenParam . hlsl . glsl . cheatEnabled . volume . inipath . hashpath . verticalRotationMode . videomode . artworkCrop . useBezels . useOverlays . useBackdrops . useCpanels . useMarquees . autosave . bootscript . bilinearEnabled . " -skip_gameinfo", winstate,,,,1)	; wrap quotes around exe
    	}
    }
    If you use netplay you'll need to also find these lines

    Code:
    MameMultiPlayer%currentPlayer%Exe := new Process(emuPath . "\" . executable)	; instantiate a new process for each player
    errLvl := MameMultiPlayer%currentPlayer%Exe.Run(" " . (If mameID = "MAME" ? romName : mameID . param1 . param2 . param3 . param4 . param5 . param6) . ctrlrFile . mameRomPaths . multiPlayerObj[currentPlayer]["CfgDir"] . multiPlayerObj[currentPlayer]["NvramDir"] . globalInputs . multiPlayerObj[currentPlayer]["LocalHost"] . multiPlayerObj[currentPlayer]["LocalPort"] . multiPlayerObj[currentPlayer]["RemoteHost"] . multiPlayerObj[currentPlayer]["RemotePort"] . sysStaticParams . romParams . fullscreenParam . hlsl . glsl . cheatEnabled . volume . inipath . hashpath . verticalRotationMode . videomode . artworkCrop . useBezels . useOverlays . useBackdrops . useCpanels . useMarquees . autosave . bootscript . bilinearEnabled . " -skip_gameinfo", winstate,,,,1)	; wrap quotes around exe
    MameMultiPlayer%currentPlayer%Exe.Process("Exist")	; get PID
    and change it to

    Code:
    MameMultiPlayer%currentPlayer%Exe := new Process(emuPath . "\" . executable)	; instantiate a new process for each player
    if (MAMEVersion > 211) {
    	errLvl := MameMultiPlayer%currentPlayer%Exe.Run(" " . (If mameID = "MAME" ? romName : mameID . param1 . param2 . param3 . param4 . param5 . param6) . ctrlrFile . mameRomPaths . multiPlayerObj[currentPlayer]["CfgDir"] . multiPlayerObj[currentPlayer]["NvramDir"] . globalInputs . multiPlayerObj[currentPlayer]["LocalHost"] . multiPlayerObj[currentPlayer]["LocalPort"] . multiPlayerObj[currentPlayer]["RemoteHost"] . multiPlayerObj[currentPlayer]["RemotePort"] . sysStaticParams . romParams . fullscreenParam . hlsl . glsl . cheatEnabled . volume . inipath . hashpath . verticalRotationMode . videomode . artworkCrop . autosave . bootscript . bilinearEnabled . " -skip_gameinfo", winstate,,,,1)	; wrap quotes around exe
    }
    else {
    	errLvl := MameMultiPlayer%currentPlayer%Exe.Run(" " . (If mameID = "MAME" ? romName : mameID . param1 . param2 . param3 . param4 . param5 . param6) . ctrlrFile . mameRomPaths . multiPlayerObj[currentPlayer]["CfgDir"] . multiPlayerObj[currentPlayer]["NvramDir"] . globalInputs . multiPlayerObj[currentPlayer]["LocalHost"] . multiPlayerObj[currentPlayer]["LocalPort"] . multiPlayerObj[currentPlayer]["RemoteHost"] . multiPlayerObj[currentPlayer]["RemotePort"] . sysStaticParams . romParams . fullscreenParam . hlsl . glsl . cheatEnabled . volume . inipath . hashpath . verticalRotationMode . videomode . artworkCrop . useBezels . useOverlays . useBackdrops . useCpanels . useMarquees . autosave . bootscript . bilinearEnabled . " -skip_gameinfo", winstate,,,,1)	; wrap quotes around exe
    }
    MameMultiPlayer%currentPlayer%Exe.Process("Exist")	; get PID
     

  8. Collapse Details
    Re: MAME v0.212 don't launch with RocketLauncher 
    #8
    Junior Member
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Posts
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by agent47 View Post
    You'll have to make the changes manually. I would post the full module but a little while back MAME changed the media type params for some of the software list systems and I haven't finished going through and fixing all of them yet so I'm not going to post something that's broken.

    Find these lines in the module

    Code:
    If !networkSession {
    	RLLog.Info("Module - SinglePlayer session")
    	errLvl := primaryExe.Run(" " . (If mameID = "MAME" ? romName :  mameID . param1 . param2 . param3 . param4 . param5 . param6 ) . ctrlrFile . mameRomPaths . sysStaticParams . romParams . fullscreenParam . hlsl . glsl . cheatEnabled . volume . inipath . hashpath . verticalRotationMode . videomode . artworkCrop . useBezels . useOverlays . useBackdrops . useCpanels . useMarquees . autosave . bootscript . bilinearEnabled . " -skip_gameinfo", winstate,,,,1)	; wrap quotes around exe
    }
    and change it to

    Code:
    If !networkSession {
    	RLLog.Info("Module - SinglePlayer session")
    	if (MAMEVersion > 211) {
    		errLvl := primaryExe.Run(" " . (If mameID = "MAME" ? romName :  mameID . param1 . param2 . param3 . param4 . param5 . param6 ) . ctrlrFile . mameRomPaths . sysStaticParams . romParams . fullscreenParam . hlsl . glsl . cheatEnabled . volume . inipath . hashpath . verticalRotationMode . videomode . artworkCrop . autosave . bootscript . bilinearEnabled . " -skip_gameinfo", winstate,,,,1)	; wrap quotes around exe
    	}
    	else {
    		errLvl := primaryExe.Run(" " . (If mameID = "MAME" ? romName :  mameID . param1 . param2 . param3 . param4 . param5 . param6 ) . ctrlrFile . mameRomPaths . sysStaticParams . romParams . fullscreenParam . hlsl . glsl . cheatEnabled . volume . inipath . hashpath . verticalRotationMode . videomode . artworkCrop . useBezels . useOverlays . useBackdrops . useCpanels . useMarquees . autosave . bootscript . bilinearEnabled . " -skip_gameinfo", winstate,,,,1)	; wrap quotes around exe
    	}
    }
    If you use netplay you'll need to also find these lines

    Code:
    MameMultiPlayer%currentPlayer%Exe := new Process(emuPath . "\" . executable)	; instantiate a new process for each player
    errLvl := MameMultiPlayer%currentPlayer%Exe.Run(" " . (If mameID = "MAME" ? romName : mameID . param1 . param2 . param3 . param4 . param5 . param6) . ctrlrFile . mameRomPaths . multiPlayerObj[currentPlayer]["CfgDir"] . multiPlayerObj[currentPlayer]["NvramDir"] . globalInputs . multiPlayerObj[currentPlayer]["LocalHost"] . multiPlayerObj[currentPlayer]["LocalPort"] . multiPlayerObj[currentPlayer]["RemoteHost"] . multiPlayerObj[currentPlayer]["RemotePort"] . sysStaticParams . romParams . fullscreenParam . hlsl . glsl . cheatEnabled . volume . inipath . hashpath . verticalRotationMode . videomode . artworkCrop . useBezels . useOverlays . useBackdrops . useCpanels . useMarquees . autosave . bootscript . bilinearEnabled . " -skip_gameinfo", winstate,,,,1)	; wrap quotes around exe
    MameMultiPlayer%currentPlayer%Exe.Process("Exist")	; get PID
    and change it to

    Code:
    MameMultiPlayer%currentPlayer%Exe := new Process(emuPath . "\" . executable)	; instantiate a new process for each player
    if (MAMEVersion > 211) {
    	errLvl := MameMultiPlayer%currentPlayer%Exe.Run(" " . (If mameID = "MAME" ? romName : mameID . param1 . param2 . param3 . param4 . param5 . param6) . ctrlrFile . mameRomPaths . multiPlayerObj[currentPlayer]["CfgDir"] . multiPlayerObj[currentPlayer]["NvramDir"] . globalInputs . multiPlayerObj[currentPlayer]["LocalHost"] . multiPlayerObj[currentPlayer]["LocalPort"] . multiPlayerObj[currentPlayer]["RemoteHost"] . multiPlayerObj[currentPlayer]["RemotePort"] . sysStaticParams . romParams . fullscreenParam . hlsl . glsl . cheatEnabled . volume . inipath . hashpath . verticalRotationMode . videomode . artworkCrop . autosave . bootscript . bilinearEnabled . " -skip_gameinfo", winstate,,,,1)	; wrap quotes around exe
    }
    else {
    	errLvl := MameMultiPlayer%currentPlayer%Exe.Run(" " . (If mameID = "MAME" ? romName : mameID . param1 . param2 . param3 . param4 . param5 . param6) . ctrlrFile . mameRomPaths . multiPlayerObj[currentPlayer]["CfgDir"] . multiPlayerObj[currentPlayer]["NvramDir"] . globalInputs . multiPlayerObj[currentPlayer]["LocalHost"] . multiPlayerObj[currentPlayer]["LocalPort"] . multiPlayerObj[currentPlayer]["RemoteHost"] . multiPlayerObj[currentPlayer]["RemotePort"] . sysStaticParams . romParams . fullscreenParam . hlsl . glsl . cheatEnabled . volume . inipath . hashpath . verticalRotationMode . videomode . artworkCrop . useBezels . useOverlays . useBackdrops . useCpanels . useMarquees . autosave . bootscript . bilinearEnabled . " -skip_gameinfo", winstate,,,,1)	; wrap quotes around exe
    }
    MameMultiPlayer%currentPlayer%Exe.Process("Exist")	; get PID
    Thank you so much for the fix agent47. Works great here.
     

  9. Collapse Details
    Re: MAME v0.212 don't launch with RocketLauncher 
    #9
    Junior Member
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    9
    no work with mame x64, but work perfect with MAME x86, HBMAME X86 and... MESS and suggestions line?
    Last edited by capiqua ; 08-06-2019 at 05:06 PM.
     

  10. Collapse Details
    Re: MAME v0.212 don't launch with RocketLauncher 
    #10
    Member
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    65
    Would you care to share what line this is the module? Been scrolling and can't find it. Must be my old age.
     

  11. Collapse Details
    Re: MAME v0.212 don't launch with RocketLauncher 
    #11
    Member
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    65
    Found it. Line 1019.
     

  12. Collapse Details
    Re: MAME v0.212 don't launch with RocketLauncher 
    #12
    Member
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    65
    Well I copied and pasted like above but not working.
     

  13. Collapse Details
    Re: MAME v0.212 don't launch with RocketLauncher 
    #13
    Super Moderator
    agent47's Avatar
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    1,158
    Quote Originally Posted by capiqua View Post
    no work with mame x64, but work perfect with MAME x86, HBMAME X86 and... MESS and suggestions line?
    That doesn't make sense because they're all the same. I use mame x64 and it's what I tested it with. It sounds like you may have some sort of configuration mistake. Ensure you can run games through MAME directly first. If you can, set the logging level in RLUI to troubleshooting, run a game, find the command line RL is using to run MAME and run that from a command prompt. It will list any errors MAME throws.

    Quote Originally Posted by jo35car View Post
    Well I copied and pasted like above but not working.
    Use the module attached to this post to rule out an editing error, which I think is your issue.
    Attached Files Attached Files
     

  14. Collapse Details
    Re: MAME v0.212 don't launch with RocketLauncher 
    #14
    Member
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    49
    Quote Originally Posted by Enkak View Post
    Thank you so much for the fix agent47. Works great here.
    Seems to have an issue with MAME64.exe with nonag screen for me. bjtwin for example
    Last edited by cataclysm67 ; 08-07-2019 at 02:50 AM.
     

  15. Collapse Details
    Re: MAME v0.212 don't launch with RocketLauncher 
    #15
    Member
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    49
    Quote Originally Posted by agent47 View Post
    That doesn't make sense because they're all the same. I use mame x64 and it's what I tested it with. It sounds like you may have some sort of configuration mistake. Ensure you can run games through MAME directly first. If you can, set the logging level in RLUI to troubleshooting, run a game, find the command line RL is using to run MAME and run that from a command prompt. It will list any errors MAME throws.



    Use the module attached to this post to rule out an editing error, which I think is your issue.
    Thanks Agent, working fine here.
    One issue though, for example on MAME64.exe nonag emulator ? the nag screen come up at start of game (This game has some issues etc)
    nonag option seems to be missing on some games, as the nag screen is usually not shown before game starts.
    Works fine on previous module. I tested bjtwin (Bombjack Twin) and a few others and although they load ok, the front screen loads up as if you were using normal MAME.
    Note: When using mamearcade.exe, arcade64.exe 64bit, they works fine, just seems to be on MAME64.exe

    Thanks again for all your hard work.
    Last edited by cataclysm67 ; 08-07-2019 at 03:01 AM.
     

  16. Collapse Details
    Re: MAME v0.212 don't launch with RocketLauncher 
    #16
    Super Moderator
    agent47's Avatar
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    1,158
    Quote Originally Posted by cataclysm67 View Post
    One issue though, for example on MAME64.exe nonag emulator ?
    No-nag isn't a separate emulator, it's modifying the source code of the original emulator to just hide the nag screens. Some people who distribute no-nag versions know what they're doing when they modify the source and others just apply diff patches found on the net.

    Either way, problems with no-nag builds have nothing to do with the module at all. If something is wrong you should contact the person who is distributing it since the problem is with the modified executable or any additional things you may need to do in order to enable it.
     

  17. Collapse Details
    Re: MAME v0.212 don't launch with RocketLauncher 
    #17
    Member
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    49
    Quote Originally Posted by agent47 View Post
    No-nag isn't a separate emulator, it's modifying the source code of the original emulator to just hide the nag screens. Some people who distribute no-nag versions know what they're doing when they modify the source and others just apply diff patches found on the net.

    Either way, problems with no-nag builds have nothing to do with the module at all. If something is wrong you should contact the person who is distributing it since the problem is with the modified executable or any additional things you may need to do in order to enable it.
    Ok thanks for info.
     

  18. Collapse Details
    Re: MAME v0.212 don't launch with RocketLauncher 
    #18
    Junior Member
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    2
    Starting a new build after I've been out of it for awhile. Ran into this same problem with 0.212 using MAME64. It fixed the problem perfectly. I didn't run into the no-nag problems but I had also downloaded the 0.212 version 2 no-nag so I don't think I would have seen it anyway. I just wanted to say thank you to the support by Agent47 and everyone else here who is keeping my child hood memories alive.
     

  19. Collapse Details
    Re: MAME v0.212 don't launch with RocketLauncher 
    #19
    Junior Member
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    8
    I also want to use v.212 to have the full collection available for this version of Game & Watch and the screen goes all black. It gives incorrect ahk error for this emulator.
     

  20. Collapse Details
    Re: MAME v0.212 don't launch with RocketLauncher 
    #20
    Junior Member
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by agent47 View Post
    That doesn't make sense because they're all the same. I use mame x64 and it's what I tested it with. It sounds like you may have some sort of configuration mistake. Ensure you can run games through MAME directly first. If you can, set the logging level in RLUI to troubleshooting, run a game, find the command line RL is using to run MAME and run that from a command prompt. It will list any errors MAME throws.



    Use the module attached to this post to rule out an editing error, which I think is your issue.
    fantastic, thank you very much
     

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •