Thread: Everything works but roms won't start

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 23
  1. Collapse Details
    Everything works but roms won't start 
    #1
    Junior Member
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Posts
    19
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support our site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site
    I have been through the entire setup. I went to test out my labor and unfortunatly when I get to select the game itself in Hyperspin it will not start. Below is my Log and Settings Script. Help would be greatly appreciated!

    Log:
    08:58:37 PM | HyperSpin Started
    08:58:37 PM | Going FullScreen
    08:58:37 PM | LEDBlinky is set to active
    08:58:37 PM | Cannot find LEDBlinky.exe in specified path, setting inactive.
    08:58:37 PM | Checking for updates
    08:58:37 PM | Update Check Complete
    08:58:37 PM | Startup program: HyperSpin Startup Script.exe
    08:58:37 PM | Startup params: exe
    08:58:37 PM | Working directory: C:\HyperSpin\Tools\
    08:58:37 PM | Window State: NORMAL
    08:58:37 PM | Launching HyperSpin Startup Script.exe
    08:58:37 PM | Command Line is HyperSpin Startup Script.exe exe
    08:58:37 PM | Playing intro video
    08:58:50 PM | Error intializing joysticks
    08:58:50 PM | Menu Mode is multi
    08:58:50 PM | Loading Main Menu.xml
    08:58:50 PM | Main Menu.xml successfully loaded
    08:58:50 PM | Main Menu wheel loaded successfully
    08:59:09 PM | Loading Atari 2600.xml
    08:59:09 PM | Main Menu.xml successfully loaded
    08:59:09 PM | Atari 2600 wheel loaded successfully
    08:59:17 PM | Launching Game
    08:59:17 PM | Not using HyperLaunch
    08:59:17 PM | Running as PC Game from Sub Menu
    08:59:17 PM | Error Cannot Find File: C:\HyperSpin\Roms\Atari 2600\Adventure.7z,zip,chd,txt,exe
    08:59:22 PM | Launching Game
    08:59:22 PM | Not using HyperLaunch
    08:59:22 PM | Running as PC Game from Sub Menu
    08:59:22 PM | Error Cannot Find File: C:\HyperSpin\Roms\Atari 2600\Adventure.7z,zip,chd,txt,exe
    08:59:25 PM | Loading Main Menu.xml
    08:59:25 PM | Main Menu.xml successfully loaded
    08:59:25 PM | Main Menu wheel loaded successfully
    08:59:30 PM | Exit program unavailable
    08:59:30 PM | Quiting Hyperspin
    08:59:30 PM | Bye!

    Settings Script:
    [Main]
    Menu_Mode=multi
    Single_Mode_Name=MAME
    Enable_Exit_Menu=true
    Enable_Exit=true
    Exit_Default=yes
    Exit_Action=exit
    Version=1.0.0.0
    Last_System=Atari 2600
    Hyperlaunch_Path=C:\HyperSpin\RocketLauncher\Rocke tLauncher\RocketLauncher.exe

    Use_Last_Game=false
    [Resolution]
    FullScreen=true
    Width=1024
    Height=768
    Scanlines_Active=false
    Scanlines_Image=
    Scanlines_Scale=2
    Scanlines_Alpha=0.1

    [Optimizer]
    CPU_Priority=high
    Quality=HIGH
    Image_Smoothing=true
    Animated_Backgrounds=true
    Inter_Backgrounds=true
    Level1_Backgrounds=true
    Level2_Backgrounds=true
    Level3_Backgrounds=false
    Level4_Backgrounds=false
    Special_Backgrounds=true
    Wait_For_Special=true
    Animated_Artworks=true
    Level1_Artworks=true
    Level2_Artworks=true

    [IntroVideo]
    Use_Intro=true
    Stop_On_Keypress=true

    [Sound]
    Master_Volume=100
    Video_Volume=100
    Wheel_Volume=20
    Interface_Volume=50

    [AttractMode]
    Active=true
    Time=120
    MaxSpinTime=10
    HyperSpin=true
    Wait_For_Video=false

    [Keyboard]
    Key_Delay=true

    [P1 Controls]
    Start=13
    Exit=27
    Up=38
    Down=40
    SkipUp=37
    SkipDown=39
    SkipUpNumber=37
    SkipDownNumber=39
    HyperSpin=32
    Genre=71
    Favorites=70

    [P2 Controls]
    Start=69
    Exit=81
    Up=87
    Down=83
    SkipUp=65
    SkipDown=68
    SkipUpNumber=74
    SkipDownNumber=77
    HyperSpin=88
    Genre=72
    Favorites=90

    [P1 Joystick]
    Enabled=false
    Joy=0
    Threshold=40
    Start=Button_1
    Exit=Button_2
    Up=Analog_Up
    Down=Analog_Down
    SkipUp=Analog_Left
    SkipDown=Analog_Right
    SkipUpNumber=Button_3
    SkipDownNumber=Button_4
    HyperSpin=Button_5
    Genre=Button_6
    Favorites=Button_7

    [P2 Joystick]
    Enabled=false
    Joy=1
    Threshold=40
    Start=Button_1
    Exit=Button_2
    Up=Analog_Up
    Down=Analog_Down
    SkipUp=Analog_Left
    SkipDown=Analog_Right
    SkipUpNumber=Button_3
    SkipDownNumber=Button_4
    HyperSpin=Button_5
    Genre=Button_6
    Favorites=Button_7

    [Trackball]
    Enabled=false
    Sensitivity=90


    [Spinner]
    Enabled=false
    Sensitivity=90

    [Startup Program]
    Executable=HyperSpin Startup Script.exe
    Paramaters=exe
    Working_Directory=C:\HyperSpin\Tools\
    WinState=NORMAL
    [Exit Program]
    Executable=
    Paramaters=
    Working_Directory=
    WinState=NORMAL

    [LEDBlinky]
    Active=true
    Path=C:\HyperSpin\Tools\EDS (Beta Relwase Version 0.8.2 - Full Package)\

    [HiScore]
    Active=true
    Y=550
    Delay=2
    [HyperLaunch]
    Last_System=MAME
    Last_Rom=blitz99
    Exit_Script_Key=~q & ~s
    Exit_Emulator_Key=Esc
    Toggle_Cursor_Key=t
    MultiGame_Key=NumpadSub
    MultiGame_Select_Key=Enter
    MultiGame_Exit_Key=Esc
    Path_To_Daemontools=
    Path_To_CPWizard=
    Fade_In_Interrupt_Keys=anykey
    Keymapper_Path=
    Keymapper_Profiles_Path=C:\HyperSpin\Keymapper Profiles\
     

  2. Collapse Details
    Re: Everything works but roms won't start 
    #2
    Super Moderator
    agent47's Avatar
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    1,345
    You have execution set to normal instead of hyperlaunch in hyperhq.
     

  3. Collapse Details
    Re: Everything works but roms won't start 
    #3
    Junior Member
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Posts
    19
    I am running Rocket Launcher with Hyperspin if that matters instead of Hyperlaunch.
    I just tried adjusting it to the suggestions and received the following error:
    Cannot find: C:\HyperSpin\Modules\Atari 2600\ Atari 2600.ahk
    You do not have a HyperLaunch 2 module for Atari 2600.
    Please create one or check Hyperlist.
     

  4. Collapse Details
    Re: Everything works but roms won't start 
    #4
    Senior Member
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    212
    Path to Rocketlauncher is not correct?

    You have "Rocketlauncher" twice in the path, is that right?

    Sent from my SM-A705W using Tapatalk
     

  5. Collapse Details
    Re: Everything works but roms won't start 
    #5
    Junior Member
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Posts
    19
    Correct, Its a folder inside itself, just how I have it organized.
    Hyperspin wheels, wheel art, themes, videos, all work great, just when I select the actual rom nothing happens. I can't find what's missing.
     

  6. Collapse Details
    Re: Everything works but roms won't start 
    #6
    Super Moderator
    agent47's Avatar
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    1,345
    Having an additional RL folder doesn't really make any sense, but that won't cause issues. Having your RL folder inside your HS folder is also not advised.

    From your HS log you have the "PC Game" option enabled too, which should be disabled. If you followed a setup tutorial it was terrible.

    Also make sure you're using the latest version of HS since older ones won't use the path to RL.
     

  7. Collapse Details
    Re: Everything works but roms won't start 
    #7
    Junior Member
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Posts
    19
    Thanks agent47. I now have execution set as Hyperlaunch on each system and PC game disabled.

    It does give me the new error: Cannot find: C:\HyperSpin\Modules\Atari 2600\ Atari 2600.ahk
    You do not have a HyperLaunch 2 module for Atari 2600.

    I am using Hyperspin 1.5.1
     

  8. Collapse Details
    Re: Everything works but roms won't start 
    #8
    Super Moderator
    agent47's Avatar
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    1,345
    If you're using 1.5.1 the only other reason I'm aware of as to why you'd be getting that error is your hyperlaunch_path is incorrect.

    You can check your HS log to confirm.
     

  9. Collapse Details
    Re: Everything works but roms won't start 
    #9
    Junior Member
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Posts
    19
    Here is the corresponding log:

    12:00:37 AM | HyperSpin Started
    12:00:37 AM | Going FullScreen
    12:00:37 AM | LEDBlinky is set to active
    12:00:37 AM | Cannot find LEDBlinky.exe in specified path, setting inactive.
    12:00:37 AM | Checking for updates
    12:00:37 AM | Update Check Complete
    12:00:37 AM | Startup program: HyperSpin Startup Script.exe
    12:00:37 AM | Startup params: exe
    12:00:37 AM | Working directory: C:\HyperSpin\Tools\
    12:00:37 AM | Window State: NORMAL
    12:00:37 AM | Launching HyperSpin Startup Script.exe
    12:00:37 AM | Command Line is HyperSpin Startup Script.exe exe
    12:00:37 AM | Playing intro video
    12:00:41 AM | Error intializing joysticks
    12:00:41 AM | Menu Mode is multi
    12:00:41 AM | Loading Main Menu.xml
    12:00:41 AM | Main Menu.xml successfully loaded
    12:00:41 AM | Main Menu wheel loaded successfully
    12:00:44 AM | Loading Atari 2600.xml
    12:00:44 AM | Main Menu.xml successfully loaded
    12:00:45 AM | Atari 2600 wheel loaded successfully
    12:00:47 AM | Launching Game
    12:00:47 AM | Using HyperLaunch
    12:00:47 AM | Getting Launcher path
    12:00:47 AM | Can't find HyperLaunch, defaulting to root HyperLaunch.exe
    12:00:47 AM | Launcher located at C:\HyperSpin\HyperLaunch.exe
    12:00:47 AM | Running Launcher
    12:00:47 AM | Launcher Command Line is: C:\HyperSpin\HyperLaunch.exe "Atari 2600" "Adventure"
    12:00:52 AM | Loading Main Menu.xml
    12:00:52 AM | Main Menu.xml successfully loaded
    12:00:53 AM | Main Menu wheel loaded successfully
    12:00:55 AM | Exit program unavailable
    12:00:55 AM | Quiting Hyperspin
    12:00:55 AM | Bye!


    HyperLaunch Log:
    Code:
    12:00:47 AM |  HyperLaunch v2.25c
    12:00:47 AM |  System Specs:
    		HyperSpin Dir: C:\HyperSpin
    		OS: WIN_7
    		OS Language: 0409
    		OS Admin Status: No
    		Monitor #1 (\\.\DISPLAY1): 1366x768 (1366x728 work)
    		HyperSpin Res: 1025x525
    		AHK Version: 1.1.07.03
    12:00:47 AM |  HyperLaunch received "Atari 2600" and "Adventure"
    12:00:47 AM |  INI Keys read
    12:00:47 AM |  Checking paths
    12:00:51 AM |  Cannot find: C:\HyperSpin\Modules\Atari 2600\Atari 2600.ahk
    You do not have a HyperLaunch 2 module for Atari 2600. Please create one or check HyperList.
     

  10. Collapse Details
    Re: Everything works but roms won't start 
    #10
    Junior Member
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Posts
    19
    I just noticed with your help in the HyperLaunch Log that my module is acutally name "Atari 2600(Stella BBB 1.0).ahk", not "Atari 2600.ahk", How would I fix that, it would make sense if that was an/the issue no?
     

  11. Collapse Details
    Re: Everything works but roms won't start 
    #11
    Super Moderator
    agent47's Avatar
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    1,345
    That's not the issue. Hyperlaunch2 is long dead and anything related to that can/should be deleted from your HS directory if you're using RL.

    The problem is that for whatever reason HS can't find RL at the path you specified so it's falling back to using HL2.
     

  12. Collapse Details
    Re: Everything works but roms won't start 
    #12
    Junior Member
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Posts
    19
    Got ya. Any suggestions on where to look? Every path I check points correctly so far.
    I attached my wheel settings from Hyper HQ
    Untitled.jpg
    Last edited by shadowphoenix ; 04-04-2020 at 02:08 AM.
     

  13. Collapse Details
    Re: Everything works but roms won't start 
    #13
    Senior Member
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    212
    You do NOT put the executable in HQ.

    rompath and extension ARE put in there, but ONLY if you are using a filter (like "roms only") in HQ.

    Sent from my SM-A705W using Tapatalk
     

  14. Collapse Details
    Re: Everything works but roms won't start 
    #14
    Super Moderator
    agent47's Avatar
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    1,345
    Quote Originally Posted by Spawk View Post
    You do NOT put the executable in HQ.

    rompath and extension ARE put in there, but ONLY if you are using a filter (like "roms only") in HQ.
    While completely unnecessary, that has absolutely no effect on RL.

    If HS can't find the RL exe it's due to a bad path or some sort of permissions issue. Despite the fact people suggest running both as admin in 99% of cases it's not required or advised.
     

  15. Collapse Details
    Re: Everything works but roms won't start 
    #15
    Senior Member
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    212
    Again, maybe it was fixed in 1.5.1... but I am telling you, even though you select hyperlaunch as launch method, if you put something in the executable path, it messes up the launch, try it!
     

  16. Collapse Details
    Re: Everything works but roms won't start 
    #16
    Super Moderator
    agent47's Avatar
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    1,345
    In all my years of doing troubleshooting over at HS I've never heard of that. HS is a buggy, janky, broken mess but even so, a bug like that seems way too dumb to exist.

    IIRC the only thing that was "fixed" in 1.5.1 is the fact that the application wouldn't run at all. Otherwise, there wouldn't have even been a release.

    If someone else wants to try it, go for it. I got rid of HS a long time ago and I'll never use it again.
     

  17. Collapse Details
    Re: Everything works but roms won't start 
    #17
    Junior Member
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Posts
    19
    If anyone is willing to review my setup I can zip it. I'm just not finding it.
     

  18. Collapse Details
    Re: Everything works but roms won't start 
    #18
    Member
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    91
    In your opinion you mean !
     

  19. Collapse Details
    Re: Everything works but roms won't start 
    #19
    Super Moderator
    agent47's Avatar
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    1,345
    Quote Originally Posted by cataclysm67 View Post
    In your opinion you mean !
    What is this in reference to?
     

  20. Collapse Details
    Re: Everything works but roms won't start 
    #20
    Senior Member
    MainSecondary
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    212
    I still think the RL path is off/misspelled or something simple... THIS is where I usually direct people who are having issues connecting with RL properly. That is all there is for settings to be connected.

    As far as games launching, I always say follow this path:

    1. does the game load stand alone in emulator? (if yes then settings there are correct)
    2. does the game load after an audit in RL by clicking the rocket icon? (if yes then settings there are correct)
    3. does the game load in HS? (if NO, 95% of the time it is usually not connected to RL or possibly you selected a filter in HQ without putting rompath and extension)

    Your errors about "hyperlaunch" scream "you are not connected" to me. Look over the settings I linked in that post and get back to me.

    Just as an FYI, are you win10?
     

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •