Plugin for EmulationStation

hundergrn07

RL Member
Not sure if this is the right spot for this but has anyone been working on a EmulationStation plugin for Rocket Launcher?

I've tried messing around with the RocketLauncher Plugin since the Databases seem to run in a similar, yet different, fashion to no avail. Honestly I am a complete newb at scripting and pulling, or programming in general and have only gotten as far as an error telling me that its not pulling the systemName from the command line. Without any actual knowledge on how this works, I am hoping someone in the forums has been working this out.

Thanks.

djvj

Administrator
Staff member
Developer
Nope, have not looked at it at all. Just no interest TBH. With the next RL update, I default to RLUI plugin when you supply a plugin via CLI and it doesn't exist. So that should help you get it going with this FE at least.

hundergrn07

RL Member
Getting started with ES and RL has been easy for the most part, especially with the figuring out that -f CLI defaults to RocketLauncher through CMD line. I was just hopeful for a more unified setup, that's all. I can live with doubling up of Databases and possible media folders. A few people over at the ES forums have been picking up RL as their middle man with mixed results, the next update will be a joy to their head indented desks.

Thank you for the quick reply.

brolly

Administrator
Developer
I just gave this a try and found some issues:

1) RL is now requiring a database file to be present due to the plugins, perhaps would be a good idea to create some default plugin where a database isn't being read. This means there will be no way to configure per game settings on RLUI, but at least you will be able to launch the games through RL. Something to consider djvj.

2) Next problem is that if RL errors out then it stays hanged forever and I have to manually close it in order to get back to EmulationStation. Same thing whenever you exit a game. This happens here: